Crime Victim Rights Act (VRA)


What is the Victim Rights Act (VRA)?

The Victim Rights Act (VRA) in Colorado ensures that crime victims are treated with fairness, respect, dignity and that they are free from intimidation, harassment, and abuse. The VRA also helps to ensure that victims are informed of critical stages of the criminal justice process and that they may be present for, and heard, at certain stages as well.



Post-Sentencing Notification

Following the sentencing of an offender, the offender will be supervised by a post-sentencing agency. After sentencing, you will be automatically enrolled for notification except when the offender is sentenced to probation.

If the offender was sentenced to probation and you wish to be notified, please fill out the appropriate form and return it to the probation department that is supervising the defendant:

Learn more about The Role and Responsibilities of the Probation Department.

Statewide Victim Resources


Being a victim of a crime and experiencing the court system can be difficult and confusing. Contact the District Attorney’s Office in the judicial district where the crime occurred and ask for a Victim Witness Specialist. A Victim Witness Specialist can provide support, information, and referrals. 


Colorado Organization for Victim Assistance

Colorado VINE Program Manager

Office of the Attorney General

  • Karla Danes, Victim/witness Services Specialist

Division of Probation Services

Department of Corrections & Parole

Juvenile Parole Board

Division of Youth Services

Colorado Mental Health Institute at Pueblo

Colorado Bureau of Investigation, Identity Theft, Fraud and Cyber Crimes Victim Support

  • CBI 24 Hour Identity Theft & Fraud Hotline

Division of Criminal Justice

District Attorney Victim Witness Specialists


1st Judicial District (counties: Gilpin and Jefferson)
2nd Judicial District (counties: Denver)
3rd Judicial District (counties: Huerfano and Las Animas)
4th Judicial District (counties: Teller and El Paso)
5th Judicial District (counties: Eagle, Lake, Summit and Clear Creek)
6th Judicial District (counties: La Plata, San Juan and Archuleta)
7th Judicial District (counties: Montrose, Delta, Gunnison, San Miguel, Ouray and Hinsdale)
8th Judicial District (counties: Jackson and Larimer)
9th Judicial District (counties: Rio Blanco, Garfield and Pitkin)
10th Judicial District (counties: Pueblo)
11th Judicial District (counties: Chaffee, Park, Fremont and Custer)
12th Judicial District (counties: Mineral, Saguache, Rio Grande, Alamosa, Conejos and Costilla)
13th Judicial District (counties: Morgan, Logan, Sedgwick, Phillips, Washington, Yuma and Kit Carson)
14th Judicial District (counties: Moffat, Routt and Grand)
15th Judicial District (counties: Cheyenne, Kiowa, Prowers and Baca
16th Judicial District (counties: Crowley, Otero and Bent)
17th Judicial District (counties: Broomfield and Adams)
18th Judicial District (counties: Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln)
19th Judicial District (counties: Weld)
20th Judicial District (counties: Boulder)
21st Judicial District (counties: Mesa)
22nd Judicial District (counties: Dolores and Montezuma)