We are sorry that you or your family have been physically or emotionally injured as the result of a crime. You may be eligible to receive compensation for your financial losses.
To apply for victim compensation, you need to contact the administrator in the judicial district where the crime occurred.
Use the interactive map to locate and contact the Crime Victim Compensation Administrator for your area.
Who Qualifies for Victim Compensation?
You may be eligible to receive crime victim compensation if:
- You or your family are victims of a violent crime in Colorado, or
- You or your family are residents of Colorado who have been victimized in a state or country that does not have a victim compensation program or will not cover your loss.
To be eligible for victim compensation in Colorado, you must meet certain criteria from the Crime Victim Compensation Statute:
- The victim sustains mental or bodily injury, dies, or suffers property damage to locks, windows, or doors to residential property as a result of the crime.
- The victim cooperates with law enforcement officials.
- The police were notified within 72 hours after the crime occurred.
- The injury or death of the victim was not the result of the victim's own wrongdoing or substantial provocation.
- The victimization occurred on or after July 1, 1982.
- The application for compensation was submitted within one year from the date of the crime or within six months for property damage claims.
The local victim compensation board may waive some of these requirements for good cause or in the interest of justice. This includes application deadlines.
What Losses are Eligible for Victim Compensation?
Losses directly related to the compensable crime are eligible for reimbursement, and may include:
- Medical Expenses
- Mental Health Expenses
- Lost wages
- Loss of support to dependents
- Residential Property Damage to Exterior Windows
- Locks and Doors
- Funeral Expenses
How Much Compensation can a Victim Receive?
Victims may be eligible to receive up to $30,000 for out-of-pocket expenses not covered by insurance or other collateral resources, or up to $2,000 in emergency funds directly related to the crime.
Where does the money come from to fund victim compensation?
Funds to pay crime victim compensation claims do not come from taxpayers. These funds are collected from fines from criminals convicted of felony, misdemeanor, and some traffic offenses.
- 2021 Victim Compensation Report
- 2020 Victim Compensation Report
- 2019 Victim Compensation Report
- 2018 Victim Compensation Report
- 2017 Victim Compensation Report
- 2016 Victim Compensation Report
- 2015 Victim Compensation Report
- 2014 Victim Compensation Report
- 2013 Victim Compensation Report
- 2012 Victim Compensation Report
Additional Victim Compensation Resources
Who Do I Contact to Apply or Check Status?
2021 Colorado Crime Victim Compensation Program Report
Nationwide, Colorado is 6th in the total amount of Crime Victim Compensation (CVC) funds disbursed though it is the 22nd most populous state. As one of only two states with a decentralized Crime Victim Compensation program structure, local Colorado judicial district CVC programs assisted more victims in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (FFY21) than 44 other states across the country. (Source: OVC 2021 Federal CVC Grant Formula Chart). The federal fiscal year begins on October 1 of each year through September 30 of the next year.
funds paid by local CVC Programs for tangible financial losses incurred by 8,120 victims of crime. Crime related expenses incurred by domestic violence victims, and their children, consistently account for 25% of all CVC funds paid across the state. Crime related expenses incurred by child victims of neglect, physical and sexual abuse account for another 31% of all CVC funds paid across the state.
funds collected for local CVC program expenditures. This is an approximate 3% decrease from FFY20.