JJDP Council Members

Council members are appointed by the Governor to serve a 4-year term, which can be renewed once, unless the Governor's Office makes an exception. The Council is federally recognized as the official State Advisory Group to the Governor on juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. The federal government requires a certain percentage of the State Advisory Group to be made up of youth members. Members are considered to be "youth" if appointed prior to the age of 26. They make up a subcommittee of the Council called the Emerging Leaders. Here they are indicated with an asterisk next to their name. If you would like to know more about how to serve on the Council, contact kelly.abbott@state.co.us.

Will Hays Appointed June, 2012
JJDP Council Chair                
Hilltop Community Resources, Inc.

*Malaysia Atwater Appointed March, 2018

*Ciara Benner Appointed March, 2018

Michelle Brinegar Appointed August, 2014
District Court Judge

*Paige Brown Appointed March, 2018  

Brian Bumbarger - Appointed July, 2020 
Colorado State University


Stacie CollingAppointed August, 2015  
CO Alternative Defense Counsel


Sheri M. Danz - Appointed December, 2019 
Office of Child’s Representative


*Viviana de la Torre - Pending Appointment


Julie DeNicola - Pending Appointment
Stepping Stones Advocacy, LLC


*Samual Elfay  - Appointed October, 2018      

Al EstradaAppointed January, 2017  
Division of Youth Services


Charles Gilford  - Appointed July, 2020
City and County of Denver


Rebecca Gleason - Appointed March, 2018   
18th Judicial District Attorney’s Office


Diana Goldberg - Appointed July, 2020


Lisa Neal Graves - Appointed December, 2019     


Thomas Harbaugh - Appointed July, 2020
State Court Administrator’s Office


Lt. Robert Jackson - Appointed December, 2019
Aurora Police Department


Kira Jukes - Appointed July, 2020
Juvenile Assessment Center, 1st JD        


David J. Kollar - Appointed December, 2019
Jefferson County Public Schools

Tracy Kraft-Tharp - Appointed August, 2013
House of Representatives


Claire Morrow  - Appointed December, 2019
Tennyson Center for Children


*Crystal Murillo - Appointed July, 2016


Kyle Ragland  - Appointed July, 2020  
Weld County Department of Human Services


Paula Ramaekers-Mattas - Appointed August, 2017
Mesa County Partners Executive Director    


Kelli Reidford - Appointed July, 2020
Office of Behavioral Health


Stephanie Seibold - Appointed December, 2019
Office of the Colorado State Public Defender


Karen Wilde - Appointed July, 2016


Expert on School Violence